SEPP

 

The formation around the Austrian clarinetist Christopher Haritzer, founded as an octet and currently working as a sextet, published their debut album “auf der Walz” in March 2o19. Previous concert activities in Austria, Germany, Romania, Italy, Switzerland and Slovakia.


“SEPP. Here is cultivated wide field. Here, beds of a wide variety of plants are looked after: jazz and folk music of the most diverse regions, free improvisation and bound dance rhythms. That’s right, it does not sound special first – after all, we’ve been living in polystylistics for decades – but I have not experienced such a range in a long time. “

[by Albert Hosp talking about “auf der Walz” via oe 1, February 2019 – translated from German by Christopher Haritzer]

more about SEPP

SEPP

is a sextett founded in 2017 by the Austrian jazz clarinetist Christopher Haritzer as an octet. It is dedicated to his grandfather Josef Lackner (commonly known as Sepp Brandstätter) from Heiligenblut.

Sepp always trusted his instincts adopting innovative and not always easy solutions, for example, to protect his home community from avalanche disasters.

Together with a selected group of artists from the Czech Republic, Germany and various regions of Austria, Christopher is now paying tribute to this lion-hearted attitude. In the process, inspired by Sepp, the six musicians courageously set out to explore new paths by making their original compositions and lyrics (or those of the writer Matthias Vieider) sound.

Victoria Pfeil

soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone, vocals, composition, lyrics
victoriapfeil.com

Tomáš Novák

violin, lead vocals, composition, lyrics
vakkordeonioline.com |hotclubdunax.com

Lothar Beyschlag

trumpet, bugle, vocals

Tobias Steinberger

framedrums, percussion, voice
tobias-steinberger.at

Christopher Haritzer

clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, diatonic bisonoric accordion, vocals, composition, lyrics,
concept and band leading

haritzer.klingt.org

auf der Walz

Between the 18th and 20th century (and sometimes still today) in certain areas of Europe, craftsmen would take a time of travel, the “waltz” after completing an apprenticeshiop. We, the people of SEPP, see ourselves as travelers, too, setting out to discover the unknown. This album is a sound collection of our craft. [Christopher Haritzer]

>> ORDER NOW

Musicians

Instruments

Nations

tour info

3-1-2o21

Feldkirchen in Kärnten (AT)

5-1o-2o21
6-1o-2o21

Innsbruck (AT)
Innsbruck (AT)

Contact & Booking

10 + 8 =

special thanks to

SEPP

 

Die als Oktett gegründete und aktuell als Sextett tätige Formation um den österreichischen Klarinettisten Christopher Haritzer veröffentlichte im März 2o19 ihr Debütalbum „auf der Walz“. Bisherige Konzertaktivitäten in Österreich, Deutschland, Rumänien, Italien, der Schweiz und der Slowakei.

 

„SEPP. Hier wird weites Feld beackert. Hier werden Beete der unterschiedlichsten Pflanzen betreut: Jazz und Volksmusik der verschiedensten Regionen, freie Improvisation und gebundene Tanzrhythmen. Stimmt schon, das klingt auf’s Erste nicht besonders – schließlich leben wir seit Jahrzehnten im Bereich der Polystilistik –, aber eine solche Palette habe ich schon lange nicht mehr erlebt.“
[Albert Hosp über das Album „auf der Walz“ via oe1, Februar 2019]

mehr über SEPP

SEPP

ist ein sechsköpfiges Ensemble, das 2017 vom österreichischen Klarinettisten Christopher Haritzer als Oktett gegründet wurde. Sie ist seinem Großvater, Josef Lackner (vulgo Brandstätter) aus Heiligenblut gewidmet.

Sepp vertraute stets auf seinen Instinkt, schlug neue und nicht immer ungefährliche Wege ein, letztere etwa wenn es darum ging, seine Heimatgemeinde vor Lawinenkatastrophen zu schützen.

Dieser unerschrockenen Haltung setzt Christopher gemeinsam mit einem erlesenen KünstlerInnen-Kollektiv aus Tschechien, Deutschland und verschiedenen Regionen Österreichs nun ein Denkmal. Dabei machen sich die sechs MusikerInnen ebenfalls auf, neue Wege zu ergründen, indem sie ausschließlich Eigenkompositionen und Eigentexte (oder welche des Schriftstellers Matthias Vieider) zum Klingen bringen.

Victoria Pfeil

Sopransaxophon, Baritonsaxophon, Gesang, Komposition, Liedtext,

victoriapfeil.com

Tomáš Novák

Geige, Lead-Gesang, Komposition, Liedtext

vakkordeonioline.com |hotclubdunax.com

Lothar Beyschlag

Trompete, Flügelhorn, Gesang

Tobias Steinberger

Rahmentrommeln, Perkussion, Stimme

tobias-steinberger.at

Christopher Haritzer

Klarinette, Bassklarinette, Kontrabassklarinette, Steirische Harmonika, Gesang, Komposition, Liedtexte, Konzept und Leitung

haritzer.klingt.org

auf der Walz

Vor allem zwischen dem 18. und 20. Jahrhundert war es für Handwerker üblich, auf die Walz zu gehen. Wir, Leute von SEPP, verstehen uns ebenso als Reisende, die frohen Mutes in die Ferne aufbrechen, um das Fremde kennen zu lernen. Dieser Tonträger ist eine klingende Sammlung unseres Handwerks. [Christopher Haritzer]

>> JETZT BESTELLEN

MusikerInnen

Instrumente

Nationen

Tourinfo

3.1.2o21

Feldkirchen in Kärnten (AT)

6.+7.1o.2o21

Innsbruck (AT)

Kontakt & Buchung

3 + 3 =

ein herzliches Dankeschön
allen Unterstützern: